DI MARIA: “All my dreams came true in one month” “Maradona, for me, is everything, he is God.”

Angel Di Maria spoke regarding Copa America, Argentina national team, Messi, Maradona, Icardi, the critics and many things in a candid conversation with ESPN.

Here is what the Copa America winning Argentina international had to say:

“Being champion with Argentina is something unique. Even until today, I continue to watch the videos of the goal (in final). It is something that I wanted very much. We had many blows, lost many finals and I suffered many injuries. I went to this Copa América knowing that I could be a substitute, but I told Scaloni that I was going to fight for a place with sacrifice and hard work “

“All my dreams came true in one month.  Winning the Copa America and playing with Leo It’s something that I have always wished for.  Sharing the dressing room with Leo Messi is something unique.”

“From now on we are going to enjoy the National Team, taking off our backpack. The win was very importan for us and for the kids.”

“The group in the National Team was spectacular, we were focused for 45 days and when it was over we were left with the feeling that it passed quickly. That means we had a good time and it is very important.”

“The atmosphere was incredible, something like the 2014 World Cup. That made us smile. You have characters who are always up and make you laugh, like Paredes, De Paul, Papu.”

“It never crossed my mind to leave the National Team. It’s what my parents taught me: to fight it and always go forward. I never lowered my arms and the Albiceleste cannot bw negotiated. Until they tell me ‘I’m not calling you never again ‘I’m going to keep fighting to be there. “

“Maradona, for me, is everything, he is God. He backed me when everyone was killing me. He made me feel the same even during their criticism. He gave me everything when he was there and I only have beautiful things to remember. He told me stories, he asked me about my family. I enjoyed it to the fullest and I will always be grateful. “

“Criticism hurts a lot … especially to the family. You see that a tear falls and you feel that it is your fault. That really hurts.”

“I would like to retire in Rosario Central. I don’t know if I would live in Argentina again, but my wife wants me to finish my career there and maybe later return to live in Europe.”

“When I scored the goal against Brazil, the first thing I thought about was the Olympic Games. I’m going to end up being a starter, I told my wife. Everything was written for me, Leo never misses a goal like the one he missed in that final. I knew that It hadn’t been offside, it worked and we were going to end up winning the final 1-0 with my goal. “

“We are more than qualified to face any National Team. Scaloni gives us security and confidence”.

“In the World Cup in Russia we went through the window, we did not have a game system, we had problems in the middle. During the World Cup there were also problems and so it was very difficult to achieve something.”

“Mauro Icardi has been doing things very well to be in the National Team, then it’s the coach’s decision. He got hooked on us very well, he’s a very good boy who has never had problems with us or us with him.”


Leave a comment