HIGUAIN: “The previous bunch of Argentina players set the bar high playing in 3 finals.”

Gonzalo Higuain shared his memories with Real Madrid, Argentina, Football and about his personal life. Here is what he said in exclusive interview with ESPN F360. Here is what he said:

“I did not expect it, not a bit. I did not expect to play 6 months in River Plate and go to Real Madrid. I expected to play a couple of years in River, play in the Copa Libertadores and from there jump to Europe.”

“I was not supposed to play for the first team of Real Madrid. They bought me and were going to leave me in Castilla team. There was also possibility of going on loan. When I arrived, I trained with the first team and at the 2nd training Capello told me ‘You stay with us’ “

“With Benzema it was a very healthy competition but we had to go extreme level. When Cristiano arrived, he scored 27 goals and I 26. The next window, they brought Kaká, Benzema. Then I said how many goals I have to score! Then Benzema came and we brought best out of each other. He is a great number 9”

“Staying at Real Madrid was very hard and tough to be at Bernabéu at the age of 18. At that time you do not value it. Now after so many years passed I see myself as one of the top scorers in the history of Real Madrid I am surprised and say “How well I did!”

“I do not see possibility of return to Argentina national team, there were many years of wear and tear. My head was completely disconnected from the national team. I am in another stage of my life, I have little left. I would not go back with myself, especially for mine, more than for me.”

“One more stain for me would not do anything to me, but I do it more than anything for my daughter. Today my priority is my family, the choice is on that side, it is a shame. Today I do not change for anything in the world to see my daughter smile.”

“It had been a lot of years and the previous bunch of Argentina players set the bar high playing in 3 finals. It did me well listening to Leo saying that those of us who were there before were also part of it is comforting because I also contributed my bit so that it can happen”

“Sharing the pitch with my brother is great. Football seperated us and brought us back together. The day before my mother passed away, he gave me the pass and I scored the goal. It seemed written, and she saw it. She could see that and it was her ultimate dream.”

“Don’t get me into trouble. I have no idea about Leo in Miami. I have 1 year left on my contract and Leo signed 2/3 years in PSG, I don’t think we will meet. The club wants him, we’re going to see. Next year I will take sabbatical, away from football and everything”


Leave a comment